The Authentic Comedian
Needs Work
(Needs Work #2) Mum birthed the Messiah. With Kate Cheka
4
0:00
-34:05

(Needs Work #2) Mum birthed the Messiah. With Kate Cheka

Kate was supposed to be the Messiah, but prefers stand-up comedy.
4
Transcript

No transcript...

Welcome to the second episode of “Needs Work”.

The idea behind this podcast is that I interview your peers (up and coming stand-ups) and we analyse a bit of theirs that isn’t working as well as they hoped. Together we try and analyse it and help them improve it. The idea is that you can learn a lot more from your peers rather than say someone who is rich and famous and hasn’t done an open mic in 20 years (also I don’t know anyone famous).

My guest this week is the very funny and eloquent Kate Cheka. She’s London based, so I was lucky enough to interview while she was visiting Berlin.

She gives some great insights on what it's like to move from a smaller scene (Berlin) to a larger scene (London). She gives us some pros and cons of having an agent, and if course we take a deep dive into 2 routines of hers that “need work”.

Would you like to be on the podcast? Please comment below or contact me.


Kate Cheka links


Show Plugs Berlin

  • Thursday 18.04.24 @ 9.30pm I’ll be hosting The Improvised Stand-Up Show - Link

  • Friday 19.04.24 @ 9.30pm I’ll be performing a road trip with Roadkill - Link

  • Saturday 20.04.24 @ 9.30pm I’ll be performing an improvised variety show with It’s That Time Of The Month - Link

Teaching Plugs Berlin

  • I’ll be teaching an Intro to Improv intensive in May - Link

  • My Spring In-person Stand-up classes are sold out but join a waiting list here - Link

World Wide Web Plugs

4 Comments
The Authentic Comedian
Needs Work
A podcast where I interview various stand-up comedians about a stand up bit they have that isn't working as well as they hoped. We'll be trying to fix it together.
This is part of my Substack http://authenticcomedy.substack.com/
Do you like the podcast "Good One" - where they interview famous comedians about their most famous bit, but did you wish it was the opposite? This podcast is for you!
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Caroline Clifford