The Authentic Comedian
Needs Work
Needs Work #6 - Pirate Juice ☠️ - with Myq Kaplan
1
0:00
-59:55

Needs Work #6 - Pirate Juice ☠️ - with Myq Kaplan

Myq tells us THE EXACT STEPS TO BECOME A PROFESSIONAL COMEDIAN ++ we talk about some old material of his that he already made funny.
1

I was incredibly honoured to have the amazing and already famous Myq Kaplan drop in on my pod! He has so many amazing insights for new comics on how he “made it” I’m going to feature them all in an upcoming post! He’s also a super sweet human being, and kind of zen. We had fun!

It us

Myq is an incredibly prolific comedian & has been on all the major late night shows. He is a “man obsessed with words”, and I absolutely love his style. He tosses material around and looks at it from every angle until it’s a lifeless husk. He’s a master of afterthought.

We deep dive in to a joke or 2 of his from his 2018 album “Live In-between Albums”.

The “Needs Work” bit starts at a record 2:28. I got some very good advice on improving the pod from my pal, comedian and podcaster Daniel Stern at Podfest Berlin.

If you’re listening to this on a web page like a loser, know that this is available wherever you get your pods! Search for “needs work caroline clifford”

Myq’s Links

  • Website

  • Aug 22 NYC - Recording of his latest album “Before We Get Started” - Link

My Links

I’m bikepacking in Norway/Sweden and boy are my legs tired. No they really are, why is nobody helping me? 😧

Online comedy coaching

  • I do 1 on 1 classes and coaching sessions for stand-up comedians - Email

Teaching plugs Berlin

  • My Autumn in-person beginner’s classes are currently sold out but I will post more! Join a waiting list here - Link

  • I just started a new Telegram Channel for classes announcement - Link

World Wide Web Plugs

Discussion about this podcast

The Authentic Comedian
Needs Work
A podcast where I interview various stand-up comedians about a stand up bit they have that isn't working as well as they hoped. We'll be trying to fix it together.
This is part of my Substack http://authenticcomedy.substack.com/